Getting to the Heart of Parenting-The Joys of Being a Parent Coach

The majority of my career was spent in elementary schools first as a classroom teacher and, later in my career, as an elementary school counselor. Over the years, I watched children come and go and got to know many of their families.
I took great delight in getting to know and work with so many of the amazing parents and/or grandparents of the children in my class or in one of my schools. I have a number of longtime friends whose children were in my class many years ago.
After I retired my career evolved into counseling in a clinical setting. I thoroughly enjoyed working with the children who were my clients however I equally enjoyed working with their parents. I found these parents to be so committed to being the very best they could be. I discovered the more involved the parents were in the process, the faster and more successful the progress of their children.
I have narrowed my focus once again and now work in my private practice as a licensed professional counselor specializing in parenting, family and school issues. I love it when delighted parents come back to a session excitedly declaring that they tried one of the ideas or strategies we developed and it worked!
I believe that parents are a child’s best advocate in this world. I love to be able help parents discover the tools within themselves to strengthen the bond and connection they have with their children. As Oprah Winfrey once said, “We did the best with what we knew; now we know more so we can do better.” It is so true.

Leave a Reply

